• News

 Elif Shafak, Lucy Hughes-Hallett and Andrew Holgate are to judge The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award

 The award-winning novelist and political commentator Elif Shafak and the acclaimed cultural historian and biographer Lucy Hughes-Hallett will join Andrew Holgate on the judging panel of The Sunday Times / Peter Frasers + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award. Now in association with the University of Warwick, the prize rewards the best work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish author aged between 18 and 35.

Having rewarded two exceptional writers of their generation in the two years since its return in 2015 – the debut poet Sarah Howe for her first collection, Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus), and Max Porter for his genre-bending debut Grief Is the Thing With Feathers (Faber & Faber) – the prize has established itself as a widely regarded source for identifying the best young writing talent.

Elif Shafak is one of today’s most influential international writers and intellectuals who straddles East and West. She is the acclaimed author of ten novels including The Architect’s Apprentice, The Bastard of Istanbul and most recently Three Daughters of Eve (Penguin, February 2017) and is the most widely read female writer in Turkey. Her work has been translated into over forty languages and she has been awarded the prestigious Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres. She is also a cultural commentator, a political scientist and an inspirational public speaker.

Lucy Hughes-Hallett’s first novel, Peculiar Ground, will be published on May 18th. Her previous book, The Pike (2013), a biography of Gabriele D’Annunzio, won all three of this country’s most prestigious non-fiction prizes: the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Duff Cooper Prize, and the Costa Biography of the Year Award.  She is a widely respected critic and reviewer, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Andrew Holgate has been the Literary Editor of The Sunday Times for eight years, and before that was the Deputy Literary Editor for nine. He has worked in bookselling, publishing and literary journalism, and has judged many other prizes, including the Samuel Johnson Award and the Somerset Maugham.

To be eligible for The Sunday Times / Peters Fraser + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award books must have been first published in the UK and/or the Republic of Ireland, in the English language, between 2 May 2016 and 2 June 2017. This year, self-published authors in particular are being encouraged to apply.

Submissions close on Sunday 2 June, 2017. The shortlist of four books will be announced on 5 November, followed by the winner on 7 December.

From 2017, the award is running in association with the University of Warwick, who, as part of the Warwick Project, are offering a bespoke 10-week residency for the award’s winner, a day festival of events, and a year-round programme of on-campus and digital support for award alumni and the year’s shortlist. The university is home to the acclaimed Warwick Writing Programme, the largest and most comprehensive of its kind in Europe, which includes renowned authors including Will Eaves, Maureen Freely, Michael Hulse, A.L. Kennedy, Tim Leach, David Morley, Sarah Moss, Ian Sansom, Jonathan Skinner, and David Vann.

The award has a reputation for spotting the literary stars of tomorrow, boasting an incredible line up of past winners, including: Ross Raisin, God’s Own Country (2009); Adam Foulds, The Truth About These Strange Times (2008); Naomi Alderman, Disobedience (2007), Robert Macfarlane, Mountains of the Mind: a History of a Fascination (2004); William Fiennes, The Snow Geese (2003); Zadie Smith, White Teeth (2001); Sarah Waters, Affinity (2000); Paul Farley, The Boy from the Chemist is Here to See You (1999); Patrick French, Liberty or Death: India’s Journey to Independence and Division (1998); Francis Spufford, I May Be Some Time: Ice and the English Imagination (1997); Katherine Pierpoint, Truffle Beds (1996); Andrew Cowan, Pig (1995); William Dalrymple, City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi (1994); Simon Armitage, Kid (1993); Caryl Phillips, Cambridge (1992); and Helen Simpson, Four Bare Legs in a Bed and Other Stories (1991).

Young Writer Award @YoungWriterYear

Follow us on twitter. The Young Writer of the Year Award is a prize of £10,000 for a writer under 35.

This site uses cookies to ensure the best user experience. Read More

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.